Launch of Security Institute Annual Awards

The Security Institute has introduced an annual Awards Event. Security professionals were recognised for their work in areas like counter-terrorism, port security, security management, security studies and engaging younger security professionals.

The Security Institute has recognised the outstanding contributions made by five individuals, who are all members of the Institute, by hosting an awards presentation at Armoury House in the City of London. The event took place at 4pm on Tuesday 27th June.

Garry Evanson CSyP, FSyI, Chairman of the Institute, commented: “We believe that recognising someone’s hard work, extra effort or special attainment is an important marker – it brings kudos to both the recipient and to our Institute more generally and when this recognition is celebrated with an official award, whether that be a certificate, memento or a trophy, then the whole security sector joins in celebrating that success and the recognition becomes even wider.”

Jerry Woods CSyP, FSyI, who is chairman of the newly formed Institute Awards Committee, explained that “Following a recent review of our awards the Board of Directors decided to pull all our awards together into one event. This new process has enabled the awards committee to be adjudicators in the nomination process. As the result of the review we have also introduced the President’s Award which is presented personally by Baroness Henig.”


Recognition Award: The Institute is a volunteer organisation which is dependent on the support of members who contribute towards its activities. A large number of our members contribute in some way to the work of the Institute, so this scheme is designed to acknowledge people who have gone the extra mile and made a really special contribution towards the success of the Institute.

Awarded to Brian Dillon FSyI - Brian is described as being a significant contributor to the important work of the Institute by drafting information about terrorist incidents for circulation to our members. In completing this work Brian frequently gives significant amounts of his own time and often prepares briefing information at weekends. It is only with the support and help of experts such as Brian that the Institute is able to meet the expectations of our members. Brian is the Managing Director of Rubicon Resilience Limited.

Awarded to Denis Murphy CSyP, FSyI - Denis is described as being a role model for others to follow. In his own time and often at his own expense he has developed his career by obtaining qualifications so that he is now one of the most qualified and experienced members of the Institute. His commitment to the Institute is second to none and he leads the way in the development of others as security professionals. Denis is the Head of Security and Resilience for PD Ports.


John Aplin Award: This is for the student who achieved the best results in the Certificate of Security Management course. There were 7 nominations for students who achieved maximum marks in last year's courses and from this list there were 4 finalists.

Awarded to Clive Fisk - During 2016 Clive studied for the Institute’s BTEC Level 3 ‘Certificate in Security Management’ qualification and achieved the maximum marks possible. He was one of 7 students nominated for the Award and was then shortlisted as one of 4 finalists. As the result of his outstanding submission, Clive was chosen by the newly formed Institute Awards Committee as the winner of the 2017 John Aplin Award. Clive is an Operations Manager for the Pilgrims Group


The George van Schalkwyk Award: Every year the Security Institute presents an award in the memory of George van Schalkwyk to an Institute Member who has made a significant contribution to security professionalism. George van Schalkwyk was an Institute member who was tragically killed in a helicopter accident in Afghanistan in 2006.

Awarded to James Sarner MSyI - In the nomination for this award James is described as proactively taking on the important mantle of chairing the Young Members group. James has unflinchingly given of his spare time and has successfully brought together a working committee, organised events and promoted networking within a cohort of young professionals in the security industry. James is a Regional Security Manager for Mitchells & Butlers


The President’s Award: This is a new award and the nominee is proposed by the Institute Board of Directors. The recipient is deemed to be a professional who has made an exceptional contribution to the objectives of the Institute.


Awarded to Ken Livingstone FSyI – Is described in the nomination for this award as being a significant and influential presence within the Security Institute and a keen advocate of professionalisation within the industry.  His hands-on experience in his early career in the Royal Military Police combined with his academic learning has enabled him to understand and educate many in how well Security Management works in a commercial environment. Ken has been the longest serving Board Director in the history of the Security Institute. Ken is Managing Director of Perpetuity Training

The Security Institute “exists for its members”

Andrew Nicholls, the Institute’s deputy chairman who was responsible for the management of the event, commented: “The Institute is a volunteer organisation which is dependent on the support of members who contribute towards its activities. We have a number of awards to make to individuals on an annual basis but this new event enables us to present all our awards altogether in the presence of friends and family, making the occasion extra special for all involved.”

The presentations took place on Tuesday 27th June in the Medal Room at Armoury House and was followed by a drinks reception attended by over 30 guests of the Institute. All of this year’s awards were made in the presence of Baroness Henig CBE who is the President of the Security Institute.

The event was kindly sponsored by Esoteric, Securigroup, Linx International and Insafe International.

Further information about the event is available from Andrew Nicholls 07703 566723

The Award Event was generously sponsored by:



Read the Press Release here